Where We Ate: JaBistro (Toronto)

After brunch at Fresh last week, my friend A and I made a date for dinner this week, this time for JaBistro. The restaurant, which was opened by the same person who brought Guu—one of Matt’s and my faves—to Toronto, is a bit on the pricey side but is positively reviewed, so we decided to give it a go.

We agonized over whether we wanted to try the tasting menu, but decided that it would probably be too much food, so we ended going with the à la carte menu. It was a good choice, because we were pretty stuffed at the end!

What We Ate

My photos from this meal are pretty horrible (and I’m not exactly great at taking photos in general), which was made worse by the poor lighting! (Toronto Life has some much nicer photos if you’re interested!)

JaBistro

  • Sashimi Sampler: To be honest, I can’t remember what kinds of sashimi there were because there too many items that the server listed all at once! Everything was really fresh, and I liked the housemade soy sauce, which was more sweet than salty, which is ideal as part of my reduced sodium intake.
  • Aburi: 7 pieces of sushi that were blowtorched, which apparently helps seal the flavor; again, I didn’t catch everything that was on there (sorry, I know that’s terrible, but it proves that I’ll eat anything!), but I know there was sweet shrimp, mackerel, salmon belly. This is a must if you go, and I’d order just the blowtorched sushi next time!
  • JaBistroll: This is the house special, which has uni, crab, salmon, and cucumber in it and was covered with tobiko. It was also blowtorched, which gave it a nice flavor.

Overall, it was a good meal, especially the blowtorched sushi, so it’s on the list of “I’d go again” places. We’ve had a lot of good sushi/sashimi in Toronto though (Sushi Kaji, Aoyama Sushi, among others), so JaBistro has some stiff competition. I might have to go try some of the other restaurants on my list before circling back!

JaBistro on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Where We Ate: JaBistro (Toronto)

  1. Pingback: Food | Sushi Moto | perspectividee

Leave a Reply

